The Cardigan Persuasion

Have you ever stopped and looked? At the world, at your life, at yourself?

You should stop every now and then. You might see something worth looking at.

I look a lot. Sometimes, I look too much. I don’t think I can help it though. You see, I’ve always thought there were two types of people in the world. Now, before I continue, let me just say that I’m a big supporter of the grey area. The grey area and I go way back. I’m wearing the t-shirt right now. For a minute though, I’m going to talk in black and white. Or, because it’s 2014 and black versus white is a bit of an old school thought pattern, imagine the brightest, hottest, most extravagant red dress you can think of, and compare it to a soft-spoken, dark blue cardigan that sits on the shelf most of its life. Those are your two types of people.

For simpler terms, let’s use the Observer and the Observed. They’re a bit self-descriptive*, so I’ll just give a brief explanation.
Observer: one who moves through the world more often seeing than doing. They notice everything, remember everything, and don’t require recognition for those tremendous feats.
Observed: they crave attention. Not the typical “attention-seeking” behaviour you see in troubled teens, but the subtler kind of attention. Being hit on at the bar, heads turning as they walk down the street, talking loudly so people will notice their conversations. Sometimes they are unaware that they’re wanting or doing these things, but it’s their life force.

You’ve probably heard them called introverts and extroverts. I’ve never really liked those words. Some connotations I don’t 100% agree with.

Here’s where I finish up with the black/white stuff and embrace the grey.

I find there’s a scale. Much like the Autism Spectrum – we’re all on it, from one degree to another. At one end you have philosophers, researchers, writers – the big thinkers who watch and learn how the world works. The other end has the celebrities, CEOs, politicians – the big doers who step forward and make the world work. One can’t survive without the other – it’s a delicate ecosystem that relies on the doers to make, the thinkers to watch and learn what works and what doesn’t, then the doers take their cues from the thinkers and the process starts again. The circle of life: it moves us all.

As with any scale, you get the half/halfs and the people who are predominantly one side with a touch from the other. You get the people who think they are one side, but seriously aren’t, and the people who would give anything to be one side, but are stuck on the other. Then you have those that swing between. One day they’ll observe more than you’d ever hope to, the next they’re being observed more than you’d ever dream of – occasionally they’ll be both at once.

These descriptions, they aren’t absolutes. The observed can watch an observer, just as an observer can be the observed. It all depends on how far to one end of the scale you are, as to how much you do one or the other. There will always be someone who sees more than you, and so sees the humble observer. There will always be someone who’s seen more than you, and so is seen by the hopeful observed.

I’m a thinker, quite obviously a writer, an observer. I always see things. I always remember things. I’m quite happy standing back and watching what other people are doing.

I feel I should write more about myself in an opening post, but hey, there’s only a tiny part of me that wants to be observed (hence the blog), so I might as well keep some of the mystery.

So are you wearing a hot, red dress? Or a dark, blue cardigan? (Guys can wear dresses too.)
I, as you have probably guessed, am of the cardigan persuasion.

Until next time,
L.A
x

*God I love this about words. They mean so much in such a little space. More on that at a later date.

Leave a Reply

