I will ride with you.

*updated*

Okay, so I’m going to jump on a bandwagon for a moment.

Actually, I’m going to stay on this bandwagon.

Anyone in Australia – and some overseas – will know about the Sydney Siege that is happening right now and has been happening for nearly 13 hours. A gunman has people held hostage in a cafe in Sydney. Most are assuming he is a Muslim terrorist, at this stage. I won’t comment that part right now, except to say I’m hoping with fibre of my being that everyone makes it out unharmed, and the perpetrator never again sees the light of day.

*update – the siege is over, as of 2am, and while the outcome could have been better, it also could have been much worse. Sure enough, the gunman will never see the sun rise again, but his death comes with the tragic and devastating loss of two hostages as well. My thoughts are with those families, and the people who must now recover from this terrifying incident.

What I will say is that the above assumption is making it really hard for people in Australia to simply be Muslim right now. I won’t deny that there are people in our world that would see it free from diversity and multiculturalism.

There is a movement happening on Twitter right now – #illridewithyou. It’s basically the decent people of Australia and the world offering to ride with their scared Muslim peers – or anyone else who is scared for that matter.

The hashtag is trending worldwide, and there is a post making the rounds that brought me to tears as I read it.

Whether this siege turns out to be an act of terror or not, affiliated with terrorists groups or not, I can’t help but agree with the sentiment and the statement this person posted.

I don’t have a Twitter account and I don’t use hashtags on Facebook, but I will for this.

We will not be intimidated. We will not bow to those who would see our world turned to chaos. We will not be terrorised.

Whoever you are, wherever you are, I will ride with you.

image

Leave a Reply

